Mask

If you had asked me what my intent was when I started making my mask I wouldn’t of been able to tell you. I was just making something that could’ve covered my face and completed the assignment. However, it wasn’t until the assignment was getting blown up that I had figured out what I wanted to do with my mask. I noticed that most people were focused more on a black composition and I wanted to be a little different than that. I wanted to emphasis light in my mask rather than take it away. At the same time I didn’t want lose contrast that was definitely needed to make this successful.

The piece utilizes contrast in a unique way. The black makes the white look all more powerful as if the two tones are battling for control over the mask. The use of value adds to that light’s power by showing the break up of the mask’s structure. The mask itself is also powerful. The shape of the nose curves through space while the jaw its just structered with pride.

If anything could’ve been changed it would’ve been he lighting. After taking the original drawing into photoshop I was able to adjust the levels to make the light stand out even more.

My Reflection

When I came here I didn’t think I was terrible or was that good of an artist. I was always thinking of myself as somewhere in the middle. Whenever I did work, I stayed within my limits and didn’t attempt anything too hard or challenging. I was never able to take difficult work that I thought would turn out terrible far. I’d only focus on my strengths and didn’t try to fix my weaknesses. I never tried anything new.

Now, being forced to endure many failures and constantly tackling challenging work, I can say I’ve grown. I’ve even gone as far as trying different mediums and learning that essentially all the same principles apply. I’ve learned not only to take my strengths to knew levels, but also learned to bring my weaknesses along with them. I can definitely say that I’ve grown as an artist.

I don’t think I’m the best artist out there. I don’t think I’m the worst out there either. My view at my skills still haven’t changed. However, as I move on through the semesters and the years, I plan to change that view for the better. Knowing that I am on the path to success, I want to strive to be the best, even though I know it probably won’t happen. Still, having this goal will keep me at my A game and forever improving.

This entry was posted in Best Work, Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

